Tuesday, September 17th, 2019

Dr. Genda Chen – 2019 SHM Person of the Year Award during at the 12th International Workshop on Structural Health Monitoring (SHM)

Dr. Genda Chen recently received the 2019 SHM Person of the Year Award during anmore…

Friday, September 13th, 2019

Zhishen Wu re-elected to a second term as ISHMII President

The ISHMII Administrative Centre is pleased to announce that Zhishen Wu, PhD has been re-electedmore…

2015-2016 Aftab Mufti Best Paper Medals

With great pleasure, the editorial board of the Journal of Civil Structural Health Monitoring and ISHMII introduce the recipients of the 2015 and 2016 Aftab Mufti Best Paper Medals for excellence in their original research published in the JCSHM.  The medals were awarded at SHMII-8, held in Brisbane, Australia in December 2017.

JCSHM recognizes excellence and awards the authors of the best paper from each volume with the Aftab Mufti medal. The medal has been awarded eight times since its inception in December 2011. The Aftab Mufti Medal honors the service, dedication and lifetime achievements of Dr. Aftab Mufti, a co-founder and the first president of ISHMII.

The committee responsible for the selection of the best paper published in volume 5 of the journal was chaired by Dr. Paolo Clemente and included Professors Ho-Kyong Kim, Didem Ozevin, Zhou Zhi, and Dr. Francisco Carrion-Viramontes. The committee responsible for selection of the best paper in volume 6 was chaired by Professor Toshiyuki Oshima and included Professors Alper Ilki, Yi-Qing Ni, Ian Smith, and Trip Shenton. The two committees followed a rigorous selection procedure.  As Editor-in-Chief, Professor Farhad Ansari has sent the committees his thanks for their attentiveness.

Join us in congratulating authors M. Malekzadeh, G. Atia, and F. N. Catbas for their 2015 paper “Performance-based structural health monitoring through an innovative hybrid data interpretation framework”, which appeared in volume 5, issue 3, July 2015, pages 287–305.  And, authors R. Betti, M. J. Deeble Sloane, D. Khazem and C. Gatti for their paper “Monitoring the structural health of main cables of suspension bridges”,  which appeared in volume 6, issue 3, July 2016, pages 355–363.  Recipients G. Atia and F. N. Catbas are pictured above.