ISHMII Council – Serving the Society and Membership

The ISHMII Council is the elected body responsible for the overall direction of the Society, along with the Executive Committee, and decisions that impact the course of the Society.  The Council is a diverse group from academia and industry, all with practical experience in structural health monitoring.  The members are representative of the regions from which ISHMII draws its membership.

Dr. Sreenivas Alampalli
Albany NY USA

Dr. Sergio Alcocer
Instituto de Ingenieria, UNAM
Mexico, DF  Mexico   Website

Dr. Farhad Ansari, Past President, ISHMII
University of Illinois at Chicago College of Engineering
Department of Civil & Materials Engineering
Chicago, IL   USA   Website

Dr. Matthias Baessler
BAM, Federal Instittute of Materials Research & Testing
Unter Den Eichen 87
Berlin 12205, Germany

Dr. Baidar Bakht
J.M.B.T. Structures Research Inc.
Scarborough, ON, Canada

Dr. Nemkumar Banthia
University of British Columbia
Department of Civil Engineering
Vancouver, BC , Canada   Website

Dr. Yuequan Bao
Harbin Institute of Technology
Harbin, China  Website

Dr. Muhammed Basheer
Chair of Structural Engineering
School of Civil Engineering
University of Leeds
Leeds, England, UK  Website

Dr. Christian Boller
Saarland University
Schliersee, Bavaria 83727, Germany    Website

Prof. James Brownjohn
Vibration Engineering Section
College of Engineering, Mathematics and Physical Sciences
University of Exeter, Exeter  UK  Website

Dr. Francisco Carrion-Viramontes
Instituto Mexicano del Transporte
Queretaro, Qro. , Mexico   Website

Dr. Genda Chen
Mid-America Transportation Center
Department of Civil, Architectural & Environmental Engineering
Missouri University of Science & Technology
Rolla, MO USA    Website

Dr. J.J. Roger Cheng
University of Alberta
Department of Civil Engineering
Edmonton, AB Canada   Website

Dr. Gian Paolo Cimellaro
Politecnico di Torino
Corso Duca degli Abruzzi 24
Turin 10129, Italy   Website

Dr. Paolo Clemente
ENEA – Italian National Agency for New Technologies
Energy and Sustainable Economic Development
Rome 123, Italy   Website

Prof. Álvaro Cunha
Faculty of Engineering
University of Porto
Porto, Portugal  Website

Dr. Nicholas de Battista
University of Cambridge
Engineering Department/Civil Engineering Building
J.J. Thomson Avenue 7a
Cambridge CB3 OFA
United Kingdom  Website  Website

Dr. Mohammed ElShafie
Civil Engineering, Construction Engineering
University of Cambridge, UK    Website

Prof. Dan M. Frangopol
Center for Advanced Technology for Structural Systems (ATLSS Center)
Lehigh University
Bethlehem, PA,  USA   Website

Prof. Branko Glisic
Structural Health Monitoring Lab
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ,  USA   Website

Dr. Mustafa Gul
University of Alberta
Markin/CNRL Natural Resources Engineering Facility 3-143
Edmonton, AB T6G 2W2, Canada

Dr. Wolfgang Habel, Past President and Secretary General, ISHMII
Federal Institute for Materials Research and Testing (retired)
Berlin, Germany   Website

Dr. David Hester
Queen’s University Belfast
DKB, Stranmillis Rd
Belfast BT9 6AX, Northern Ireland, UK

Mr. Ray Hoemsen
Red River College
2 Point Road
Winnipeg Manitoba R3T 1C9, Canada

Dr. Daniele Inaudi
Smartec SA
Manno, TI, Switzerland   Website

Dr. Vistap Karbhari
Office of the President
University of Texas at Arlington
Arlington, TX, USA  Website

Prof. Chan Ghee Koh
National University of Singapore
Department of Civil Engineering
Singapore   Website

Prof. Hong-Nan Li, Dean and Professor
Faculty of Infrastructure Engineering
Dalian University of Technology
Dalian, China    Website

Prof. Hui Li
School of Civil Engineering
Harbin Institute of Technology
Harbin, China    Website

Prof. Ying Lei
Xiamen University, China
Xiamen, China   

Prof. Werner Lienhart
Graz University of Technology
Institute of Engineering Geodesy and Measurement Systems
Graz, Austria   Website

Dr. Maria Pina Limongelli
Politecnico di Torino
Piazza Leonardo de Vinci, 32
Milan 20133, Italy     Website

Dr. Ali Maher
Rutgers University
Civil and Environmental Engineering
Piscataway, NJ, USA   Website

Dr. Saeed Mahini
Centre for Timber Durability and Design Life
University of Sunshine Coast
Sippy Downs, Queensland, Australia  Website

Dr. Alexis Mendez
MCH Engineering, LLC
Alameda, CA,  USA  Website

Prof. Yasunori Miyamori
Hokkaido University
Hokkaido, Japan   Website

Prof. Masoud Motavalli
EMPA – Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Testing & Research
Duebendorf, Switzerland   Website

Dr. Aftab Mufti, Founding President
Director, SIMTReC
University of Manitoba
Winnipeg, MB, Canada  Website

Dr. John Newhook
Dalhousie University
Department of Civil Engineering
Halifax, NS,  Canada     Website

Dr. Ching-Tai Ng
The University of Adelaide
School of Civil, Environmental & Mining Engineering
North Terrace, Adelaide
South Australia 5005, Australia    Website

Prof. Yi-Qing Ni
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Department of Civil and Structural Engineering
Hung Hom, Kowloon, Hong Kong
ceyqni@polyu.e  Website

Dr. Mayuko Nishio
University of Tsukuba
Department of Engineering Mechanics and Energy
Tsukuba, Japan   Website

Prof. Jinping Ou
Dalian University of Technology
Dalian, China    Website

Prof. Didem Ozevin
University of Illinois at Chicago College of Engineering
Department of Civil & Materials Engineering
Chicago, IL,  USA   Website

Dr. Carlo Rainieri
National Research Council of Italy
Construction Technologies Institute

Prof. Tripp Shenton
University of Delaware
Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering
Newark, DE, USA   Website

Prof. Bin Shi
President, Nanjing University High-tech Institute at Suzhou
Department of Geoengineering & Geoinformatics
Nanjing University
Nanjing, China   Website

Prof. Ian Smith
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL)
IMAC – Applied Computing and Mechanics Laboratory
Lausanne, Switzerland    Website

Dr. S. Paul Sumitro
SmartSensys LLC
Champaign, IL,  USA  Website  

Prof. Susan E. Taylor
School of Planning, Architecture and Civil Engineering
Queen’s University
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom   Website

Dr. Douglas Thomson
University of Manitoba
Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering
Winnipeg, MB, Canada   Website

Dr. Asif S. Usmani
University of Edinburgh
School of Engineering & Electronics
Edinburgh, United Kingdom  Website

Dr. Helmut Wenzel
Vienna Consulting Engineers
Vienna, Austria   Website

Prof. Zhishen Wu, President of ISHMII
Ibaraki University
Department of Urban and Civil Engineering
Ibaraki, Japan   Website

Dr. Yong Xia
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Hum Hong, Kowloon, Hong Kong    Website

Dr. You-lin Xu
The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
Hung Hom,  Kowloon, Hong Kong

Dr. Ting-hua Yi
Dalian University of Technology
Ganjingzi District, Linggong Rd 2
Dalian 116024, China

Prof. Mohamed A Zaki
Structural Engineering
Egyptian Housing Building Research Center (HBRC) and
October 6 University
Arab Center for Earthquake & Disaster Risk Reduction League of Arab States  
Cairo, Egypt    Website

Dr. Jian Zhang
International Institute for Urban Systems Engineering
Southeast University
Nanjing, China   Website

Dr. Zhang Yufeng
Jiangsu Transportation Institute  (JSTI)
Bridge Structural Engineering Research Division
Jiangnin Science Park, Nanjing, China 211112    Website

Dr. Zhou Zhi
Dalian University
Dalian, China    Website

Dr. Jing Zhou
School of Civil Engineering
Dalian University of Technology
Dalian, China    Website

Dr. Daniele Zonta
Centre for Intelligent Infrastructure
Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering
University of Strathclyde  Website


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Contact Info
Praesent quis risus nec mi feugiat vehicula. Sed nec feugiat arcu.
  • ISHMII Administrative Center c/o University of Manitoba Department of Civil Engineering, A250 – 96 Dafoe Road Winnipeg, Manitoba R3T 2N2 Canada