Thursday, February 18th, 2021

Webinar on Load Testing of Bridge

Webinar on Load Testing of Bridges  Date: April 7, 2021 Time: 10 AM to 12more…

Tuesday, February 2nd, 2021

Journal of Civil Structural Health Monitoring – Volume 11, issue 1, February 2021 Published

15 articles in this issue Ground penetrating radar for assessment of reinforced concrete wastewater treatmentmore…

ASCE/EMI awards Frangopol 2020 Alfred M. Freudenthal Medal

Life-cycle engineering pioneer recognized with lifetime achievement award

Dan M. Frangopol, the inaugural Fazlur R. Khan Endowed Chair of Structural Engineering and Architecture at Lehigh University, is the recipient of the 2020 Alfred M. Freudenthal Medal awarded by the Engineering Mechanics Institute (EMI) of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE).

Frangopol, who is a Distinguished Member of ASCE, a past Vice President of EMI, and an Inaugural Fellow of EMI, has been recognized for his “outstanding contributions to the advancement of probabilistic, reliability and risk methods in civil engineering, particularly in developing probabilistic models for life-cycle performance assessment, maintenance and optimum management of civil infrastructure systems in diverse loading environments.

According to ASCE, which represents more than 150,000 members of the civil engineering profession in 177 countries, this prestigious medal is awarded every two years to “an individual in recognition of distinguished achievement in safety and reliability studies applicable to any branch of civil engineering.”

ASCE established the award in 1975 to honor Freudenthal, who is recognized as the “father” of structural reliability.

Frangopol is regarded as a worldwide authority on structural reliability, optimization, and life-cycle engineering. Throughout his distinguished career of research, education, and service, he has received a number of awards from ASCE, including the 2020 Raymond C. Reese Research Prize, the 2019 George W. Housner Structural Control and Monitoring Medal, the 2019, 2004, and 1998 State-of-the-Art of Civil Engineering Awards, the 2016 Outstanding Projects and Leaders Awards (OPAL) Lifetime Achievement Award in Education, the 2016 Alfredo Ang Award on Risk Analysis and Management of Civil Infrastructure, the 2015 Alfred Noble Prize, the 2014 and 2001 J. James R. Croes Medals, the 2012 Arthur M. Wellington Prize, the 2007 Ernest E. Howard Award, the 2005 Nathan M. Newmark Medal, and the 2003 Moisseiff Award.

Read more about Frangopol’s research and achievements here.